Air-Export Receiving Terminals

What is a Scac Code:

The SCAC is a unique two-to-four-letter code used to

identify transportation companies.   The National Motor

Freight Traffic Association, Inc. (NMFTA) developed the

SCAC identification codes in the late 1960s to facilitate computerization in the transportation industry. Today,

the SCAC has many applications. It is used to identify

company names in electronic data interchange (EDI)

transactions, intermodal interchange agreements

(such as the UIIA), and computerized, freight-and

passenger-transportation payment systems (Cass

Information Systems, CorPay Solutions, Inc, etc.).

Most major petroleum companies use the SCAC to

identify the companies that pickup product at their



SCACs are also required for the Customs and Border

Protection's Automated Commercial Environment (ACE),

Automated Manifest (AMS) and Pre-Arrival Processing

(PAPS) Systems, and the Surface Transportation Board

(formerly Interstate Commerce Commission) tariff filing



Carriers who use the Uniform Intermodal Interchange

Agreement (UIIA) are required to maintain a valid SCAC. 


Further, SCACs are required when doing business with

all U.S. Government agencies and with many commercial

shippers including, but not limited to, those in the

automobile, petroleum, forest products, and chemical

industries as well as suppliers to retail businesses and

carriers engaged in railroad piggyback trailer and ocean

container drayage.

Navigational Logistics, Inc.
147-35 183rd Street Jamaica, New York 11413 Suite 202 | Tel:    1-718-553-9500       Fax: 1-718-553-9600 |
Copyright © 2000-2015 Navigational Logistics, Inc... All rights reserve Website Policy Document